Darien 

Where the world ends! Darien is a marsh area between Panama and Colombia; famous because the mythical Panamerican is cut at this place, the area is a huge wetland with few roads and infrastructure, travel is mainly in 4X4 or canoe.

History and Geography :

Darien is a protected national park and referenced Unesco. It has a primary forest and is home to an incredible ecosystem. The region is also the territory of Indian peoples, the Embera (which we also find to Rio Chagres) and the Wounaan. The area has few towns but jungle villages.

Hotels or other accommodations:

Few hotels available in Darien except on Yaviza or La Palma which are the main cities. However, there are many opportunities for housing in the jungle in Indian communities. Then there are if you want to practice sport fishing, small hotels dedicated to this activity.

How to get there :

Simple flight from Panama City on some small airports in the area, Jaque or Sambu. Others will prefer the local bus which crosses the country to reach the small villages but the 4X4 is the best solution. The province has a small road network and many trails connect the villages.

To discover or to do:

A biosphere reserve, the Darien is an immersion in the primary jungle. Its fauna and flora are unique and you can enjoy the many animals on site. A hike in the jungle, an experience in Indian villages are unique moments. On the other hand, on the sea side, sport fishing gives rise to catches such as swordfish or other fish.

Unusual:

The famous Panamerican who goes from Alaska to Argentina is cut off voluntarily in the Darien. This is to limit traffic from neighboring Colombia. Darien is also a fantastic aera to fish and make sports . Trek, horse back riding .

Darien 

Là où finit le monde ! Le Darien est une zone de marais situé entre le Panama et la Colombie ; célèbre puisque la mythique Panaméricaine est coupée à cet endroit, la zone est une immense terre humide avec peu de routes et d’infrastructures, les déplacements se faisant essentiellement en 4X4 ou en pirogue.

Histoire et géographie

La Darien est un parc national protégé et référencé Unesco. Il comporte une forêt primaire et abrite un incroyable écosystème. La région est aussi le territoire de peuples indiens, les Embera (que nous retrouvons aussi vers le Rio Chagres) et les Wounaan. La région comporte peu de villes mais des villages de jungle.

Les hôtels ou autres logements

Peu d’hôtels disponibles dans le Darien sauf sur Yaviza ou La Palma qui sont les villes principales. Cependant, il existe de nombreuses possibilités de logement dans la jungle dans les communautés indiennes. Ensuite, il existe si vous voulez pratiquer de la pêche sportive, de petits hôtels dédiés à cette activité.

Comment s’y rendre

Simple en avion depuis Panama city sur quelques petits aéroports de la zone, Jaque ou Sambu. D’autres préfèreront le bus local qui traverse le pays pour rejoindre les petits villages mais le 4X4 est la meilleure solution. La province dispose d’un réseau routier peu important et de nombreuses pistes permettent de relier les villages.

A découvrir ou à faire

Réserve de la biosphère, le Darien est une immersion dans la jungle primaire. Sa faune et sa flore sont uniques et vous pourrez apprécier les nombreux animaux sur place. Une randonnée dans la jungle, une expérience dans les villages indiens sont des moments uniques. D’autre part, sur la partie mer, la pêche sportive donne lieu à des prises comme l’espadon ou autres poissons.

Insolite

La célèbre Panaméricaine qui va de l’Alaska à l’Argentine est coupée volontairement dans le Darien. Ceci afin de limiter les trafic depuis la Colombie voisine.